Where am I studying?

EWI
Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science (EEMCS) building at the DelftTU campus (from http://www.tudelft.nl/en/about-tu-delft/faculties/)

After watching the feedback Video on Assignment 1  I wanted to know more about the institution I’m studying ‘at’. I visit the website for the Delft University of Technology. There is a very nice promotional video in English – is all the teaching in English at this University?  I found English listed as the teaching language on one of the online course, but I’m not sure if that’s the case for on campus? I checked and most are taught in Dutch but a few are taught in English – I also notice that I’ve been directed to the English version of the website.  There was some interesting discussions in our DEGC blog about English Language and whether this had become a ‘de facto’ standard on global education? this discussion linked to Pickles (2016) article which says:

According to the German linguist Ranier Enrique Hamel, in 1880 there were 36% of scientific publications using English, which had risen to 64% by 1980.

But this trend has been further accentuated, so that by 2000, among journals recognised by Journal Citation Reports, 96% were in English.

I want to see what the campus looks like and I find a page about the various campus buildings. I decide that this course probably sites within the Faculty Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science – so that would be the building I’m ‘studying’ in if I were on campus. I wonder if the videos are filmed here?

It looks DelftTU are offering free MOOCs partly to promote their full online courses. They have a website showcasing Online Learning Options. I discover at the end of the course that they are offering a paid for follow up course to the Open Government MOOC, which looks into the subject in more depth.

Are you interested in a follow up course? > Professional Education in Data Governance
From October 2016, TUDelft will be hosting a 5 week professional education course on Open Data Governance and Use for professionals, administrators, policy advisors, developers and government officials.


Pickles, M. (2016) Could the dominance of English harm global scholarship? BBC NEWS Retrieved 11th March 2016 http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-35282235

 

Author: Susan Greig

I'm a Learning Technology Advisor at the University of Edinburgh. I just finished my Postgraduate Certificate in Digital Education at the University of Edinburgh.

Leave a Reply

